Michael Pandya


Michael Pandya is a versatile young pianist specialising in song and chamber music. He has appeared in performance alongside Graham Johnson, Jonathan Lemalu, Robin Tritschler, Eamonn Dougan, and his recital schedule has taken him across the UK and into both Europe and the USA. In 2018 he won the Gerald Moore Award, the Help Musicians UK Accompanist Prize at the Kathleen Ferrier Awards, and the Oxford Lieder Young Artist Platform with duo partner Harriet Burns.

Michael has received numerous other prizes including the Accompanist Prize at the Maureen Lehane Vocal Awards, Paul Hamburger Prize, Brenda Webb Award, Joan Chissells/Rex Stephens Schumann Lieder Prize, the Vivian Langrish Piano Prize and the Pianist Prize at the Rosenblatt North London Singing Competition. Recent performing engagements include appearances at the Wigmore Hall, KlavierFestRuhr, Oxford Lieder Festival, Newbury Spring Festival, Royal Overseas-League London, Hinchingbrooke Bösendorfer Series, Aberdeen Youth Festival, the Barbican Hall, and several live performances on BBC Radio 3’s In Tune. Upcoming engagements include concerts at Barnes Music Festival, Leeds Lieder Festival and Harrogate International Festivals, and recitals in Edinburgh and Belfast. He is an Oxford Lieder Young Artist and a Samling Artist, as well as being a regular pianist for the Samling Academy. He has given recitals for the Park Lane Group and the Concordia Foundation, and received the Graham Johnson Fellowship at SongFest, Los Angeles in 2017.

Michael is an experienced repetiteur and vocal coach, having worked as a repetiteur for New Chamber Opera for two years. He is also a scholar of the Solti Peretti Repetiteur course. Michael previously studied at the University of Oxford; there he directed student operas by Albinoni, Haydn and Michael Nyman, amongst many others. For two years he was also Accompanist in Residence for the Oxford Lieder Festival.

Michael now studies at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, having graduated from the Royal Academy of Music with a DipRAM in 2017. Teachers have included Graham Johnson, Julius Drake, Michael Dussek, James Baillieu, Ian Brown, Caroline Palmer and Sholto Kynoch. Michael’s studies have been generously supported by the Countess of Munster Musical Trust, Help Musicians UK, the Leverhulme Trust, the Clumber Studio Trust and the Winifred Christie Trust.


Back to About Us